PJCE feat. James Miley | Watershed Suite

Portland Metro Arts – Saturday, August 18 – 5:30 p.m.

PJCE feat. James Miley | Watershed Suite

Saturday, August 18, doors open: 1:00 p.m., event begins: 5:30 p.m.
Tickets: https://www.tickettomato.com/event/5570

In a new suite, renowned composer James Miley honors Oregon’s diverse waterways, from the mighty Columbia to the serenity of Klamath Basin National Wildlife Refuge.

James Miley, recipient of the IAJE/Gil Evans Fellowship in Jazz Composition, is assistant professor of music at Willamette University in Salem, Oregon, where he directs the Willamette Jazz Collective and teaches improvisation, composition, jazz history, music technology, and music theory. A versatile composer and pianist comfortable in both the jazz and classical idioms, he has written music for a variety of chamber and choral ensembles in addition to his work for jazz orchestras. Miley’s music is sophisticated yet tuneful. It is full of rhythmic vitality and covers a broad range of aesthetic territory, making poignant, ethereal statements sometimes with tongue solidly in cheek.

Miley has appeared as a guest composer and performer at numerous festivals and universities over the past decade, including the University of Michigan, University of Miami, University of Idaho, University of Texas, California State University Northridge, Kathmandu Jazz Conservatory, the Jazzmandu and Sundance Festivals in Nepal, and the Monterey, UNC/Greeley, and Reno Jazz Festivals.

Portland Jazz Composers Ensemble is a twelve-piece jazz chamber orchestra that commissions and performs original works by its members and by other jazz composers in the Portland community and beyond. It also operates a grassroots label, PJCE Records, which releases albums of original music by local jazz artists.

Lineup: Ian Christensen, soprano sax; Idit Shner, alto sax, clarinet; Tim Willcox, tenor sax; Andy Rayborn, bari sax, bass clarinet;
Thomas Barber, trumpet; Douglas Detrick, trumpet;  Matt Hettwer, trombone; Denzel Mendoza, trombone; James Miley, composition, piano; Ryan Meagher, guitar; Andrew Jones, bass; Jonas Oglesbee, drums

Previous | Next


Limited Reserved and VIP tickets available: https://www.tickettomato.com/event/5570

Ian Christensen – soprano sax
Idit Shner – alto sax, clarinet
Tim Willcox – tenor sax
Andy Rayborn – bari sax, bass clarinet
Thomas Barber, Douglas Detrick – trumpet
Matt Hettwer, Denzel Mendoza – trombone
James Miley – piano
Ryan Meagher – guitar
Andrew Jones – bass
Jonas Oglesbee – drums